Uncategorized

Typical Saturday-Part 1

All I can say is that this Saturday was an eating frenzy. It was so crazy that I am making it into two parts. Part 1 I am going to focus on breakfast. I am starting to become a breakfast fanatic- I think it is my new favorite meal of the day. Today, my family and I started the day off with an Almond-Crusted French Toast with Blueberry Maple Syrup on the side. All you need to know is that it is life changing and I am going to share my recipe with you.

Ok, but what you need to know is that you must, must, must use delicious, fresh bread. For example, Challah- that is what I recommend for this recipe. During my second year of school we were taught for months how to perfect making Challah bread. It is just a dough that all Pastry Chefs need to know how to work with. Also, the braids- you need to know how to braid a four and six stranded Challah. When I first saw my Chef show us these braids, I almost fell to the floor. It looked really confusing, but once you get your hands in the dough and learn how to do it- it’s nothin’.

This week on one of my days off, I decided I wanted to make a Challah loaf and some rolls. Oh, and did I mention- Challah bread freezes BEAUTIFULLY!! So, that’s just what I did. I baked a Challah loaf, froze it, used it this morning and made a delicious breakfast.

How beautiful is that?!

Ok, Ok you’re probably saying, “I don’t have time to make Challah bread at home.” That’s fine, just make sure to buy a good-quality loaf for this recipe. By the way, this is such an easy recipe that is a real crowd-pleaser. Jake actually said it was ‘the best French Toast I’ve ever eaten. The blueberry stuff makes it even more awesome.’ Glad he likes my cooking 🙂

Here is the recipe

1 Cup: Milk (whole, 1%, whatever you have is fine)

1/2 Cup: Heavy Cream

2 Each: Eggs

1/2 teaspoon: Cinnamon

3-4 Grates: Fresh Nutmeg

1 teaspoon: Vanilla Paste (If you do not have vanilla paste, extract works just fine. I absolutely love vanilla paste and I highly recommend having some in your pantry)

3 Tablespoons: Brown Sugar

1 Loaf of Challah Bread

1/2 Cup: Sliced Almonds

Method:

1) Whisk together milk, heavy cream, eggs, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla paste and brown sugar.

Love having Oli in the kitchen with me

2) Slice the Challah into about 1 inch thick slices (about 6-8 will get out of a loaf). Place the bread slices into a shallow dish, which is large enough to hold them in a single layer. Pour the egg mixture evenly over the bread. Refrigerate until the custard is absorbed. This process takes about 20 minutes. Halfway through the soaking process give the bread slices a turn in the custard mixture just so it absorbs into both sides of the bread. 

3) When the custard is nearly absorbed, pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. 

4) Lightly grease a baking sheet with cooking spray. Place the bread slices onto the baking sheet and sprinkle each with granulated sugar. Sprinkle each slice with the sliced almonds, pressing lightly onto the surface of the bread. 

5) Bake the French Toast until it has a beautiful golden brown color, about 25 minutes. 

While it is baking, make the blueberry syrup. It is such an easy recipe and all you need is pure maple syrup, fresh blueberries and a small sauce pot.

1/2 Cup: Pure Maple Syrup

1/2 Cup: Fresh Blueberries

Method:

1) Combine the syrup with half of the blueberries in the sauce pot over medium heat. Bring to a boil. 

2) Lower the heat and bring to a simmer, just until the blueberries burst and have broken up, about 3 minutes. Turn off the heat and stir in the remaining blueberries. Keep warm.

To serve: Place a slice of French Toast on a plate with the warm blueberry syrup on top.

This breakfast is delicious and one of my favorites.

Part 2 of our Saturday is next…be prepared.

Leave a Reply

