Uncategorized

Apple Butter

So, I still have a ton of apples from the first time I went apple picking, which was probably back in the beginning of October. It’s about time I get rid of them!

One of my favorite things to make is apple butter. It lasts in the refrigerator for months and can be used to spread on toast, put on top of oatmeal, or just eat straight up!

And no, it does not contain any butter.

But, it is delicious and I use it in my apple turnover recipe.

Apple Butter:

5 each: Assorted Apples-peeled, cored and cut into medium-sized pieces

1/2 Cup: Brown Sugar

1/4 Cup: Water

2 T: Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 t EACH: Cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice

Method:

1) Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized pot and place over medium heat.

2) Stir occasionally. The mixture will start to bubble and the apples will eventually soften and break down.

3) This will take about 20-25 minutes. Once all the apples have broken down, you have to decide if you want the mixture completely smooth (use a blender to do this) or a little chunky (I prefer this; I use a potato masher). Set the mixture aside to cool before storing it in a container.

Or, you can use this beautiful apple butter to make my apple turnovers! 

On to my next post!!

Leave a Reply

