Uncategorized

Apple Turnovers

I am a huge fan of apple turnovers and my family loves my recipe. One of the best apple turnovers I had was at The CI of A. During my last few weeks of school, we were required to work in the cafe/bakery in the school. Three weeks back of the house, three weeks front of the house. It was an awesome learning experience, which was definitely not long enough. 

Best part, I picked up a new recipe that for so long, I was dying to figure out.

Okay, well this recipe isn’t exactly my school’s version (come on, I put my own twist on everything I get my hands on!!), but very, very similar and just as delicious!

Oh, and I recruited the twins in the kitchen to help me. Great sister bonding!

Let me also mention that for the dough in this recipe, I use all butter Puff Pastry dough. If you aren’t familiar with Puff dough, it’s that beautiful flaky dough used in for example, Beef Wellington. Talk about yummy stuff.

Since most people aren’t weird like me where you have to make everything yourself, you can buy really good-quality Puff Pastry at the food store. Just please, make sure it is made with all butter and not yucky oils!

This recipe will make about 20 mini turnovers. Here is my recipe.

For the filling:

1 1/2 Cups: Apple Butter (I use my recipe. You can also buy store bought apple butter. If you do, you will need to add spices to it)

3-4 Each: Apples- peeled, cored and cut into small dices

Puff Pastry (P.S. If you want my easy recipe, email me!!)

Egg Wash- 1 Egg mixed with a little H2O

Coarse Sugar, for sprinkling

To Assemble:

1) Make sure your Puff dough is still slightly cold (if the butter is too warm, say bye-bye to that beautiful flakiness!!), but still able to be rolled out. And, don’t work with it all at once. Cut the dough into thirds or in half. Flour your surface, use a rolling pin to roll the dough into a square about 1/4 inch thick.

2) Use a large round cookie cutter (mine was about 4 inches) to cut circles. 

3) Scoop about 1/2 a tablespoon of filling onto the dough. Lightly egg wash around the edges.

4) Fold over the dough so they look like half moons. Press down the edges to secure the filling inside the dough. You don’t want the filling to spill out while baking. Place them on a sheet pan, which is lightly greased or topped with non stick paper. 

5) Once you have all the turnovers made, place them in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

6) Take them out once 45 minutes is up and using a small sharp knife, cut two slits into the turnovers. This will help release steam during baking. Using a pastry brush, lightly egg wash the turnovers. Sprinkle the tops with coarse sugar.

 7) Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes, or just until the are golden brown.

I like to serve these warm, but they are just as good at room temperature.

By the next day, they were all gone thanks to my family! That’s how good they are.

Leave a Reply

