Uncategorized

Last-Minute, Four-Layered Pumpkin Cheesecake

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

So, I have my two pies made-pumpkin and apple crumble pie. But, last-minute (and being me) I decided that wasn’t enough for this big family.

A few weeks ago, I made a pumpkin cheesecake at work and it was delicious. A nice change from the traditional pumpkin pie. So, that is what I decided to make.

Usually, it is made with just a graham cracker crust, but I had a lot of pie dough leftover and I had to use it! That’s when I thought, why not just use both crusts?!

That is how my last-minute, layered pumpkin cheesecake was born!

First layer: Pie dough

Second Layer: Graham cracker crust

Third Layer: Cream cheese mixture

Fourth Layer: Pumpkin cream cheese mixture

Here is my recipe:

1 Recipe: Prepared pie dough (if you would like a good recipe, e-mail me!)

Graham Cracker Crust:

1/2 Cup: Crushed graham crackers

3 Tablespoons: Melted butter

1 Tablespoon: Sugar

Cream Cheese Mixture:

2, 8 ounce packages: Cream cheese

1/2 Cup: Sugar

1 teaspoon: Vanilla paste/extract

2 Each: Eggs

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Mixture:

1 Cup: Reserved cream cheese mixture (from layer 3)

1/2 Cup: Pumpkin puree

1/2 teaspoon: Ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon each: Ground cloves & nutmeg

Directions:

1) Lightly grease a pie dish and preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Roll out the prepared pie dough in a circle (about 1/4 inch thick) and line the pie dish. Using a fork, perforate the sides of the pie dough (this will help release steam during baking, preventing the dough from shrinking). Keep refrigerated while you make the 2nd layer.

2) Make the graham cracker crust: Crush graham crackers by hand or using a food processor until finely ground. Transfer them to a bowl and add the melted butter and sugar. Combine together with your hands. Put on the bottom of the pie crust and evenly spread out with your hands lightly pressing down. Put back in the refrigerator.

1st & 2nd Layers!

3) Make the cream cheese mixture: In a bowl, combine the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla using an electric mixer until it is soft and looks spreadable.

I was being extremely lazy and decided not to take out my KitchenAid mixer and use my mom’s handheld mixer she got as an engagement gift in the 80’s!!

4) While the mixer is on, add in the eggs. Mix until it is smooth. 

5) Take out the pie dish and reserve 1 cup of the cream cheese mixture and set aside. Add the rest of the cream cheese mixture on top of the graham cracker layer. Spread out using a small spatula. Put back in the refrigerator. 

6) Final layer: In a bowl, combine the reserved 1 cup, pumpkin puree and spices. Stir with a rubber spatula. Take out the pie dish from the refrigerator and add the pumpkin cream cheese mixture on top. Spread out with a small spatula.

7) Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes until the pie looks set in the center. Let the pie cool, then refrigerate until ready to serve.

Ready to bake!

Okay, so my cheesecake is out of the oven and it smells like a Yankee Candle in the house!!

Later, I will post pictures of the cut cake and how I finish it. I like to top it with Bourbon-Cinnamon Whipped Cream (hand whipped-no electric mixer required!).

For now, I will just sit back and wait for Santa to come out in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade!

To be continued…

-Sis-

Leave a Reply

