Uncategorized

Cranberry, Ginger & Orange Cream Scones

I absolutely love scones. My addiction became serious when I would buy a scone almost everyday from my school’s cafe! I couldn’t resist the crunchy exterior and the buttery, soft interior.

Luckily, one of my textbooks I received when I began my career at The CIA had that delicious scone recipe. This recipe is a great base for adding your own garnishes (dried fruits, chocolate chunks, nuts, etc). You can be as creative as you want! The trick with making scones is to keep your liquid ingredients and butter as cold as possible. Kind of like as if you were making pie crust.

I love the combination of dried cranberries, ground ginger and orange (similar ingredients I use in my cranberry sauce)-you cannot go wrong. With the dried cranberries (and with many other dried fruits) I like to soak them in a flavorful liquid beforehand just to plump them up. I either use juice or alcohol. Today, I soaked the dried cranberries in a little orange juice since I was also adding some orange zest to the dough.

But, please, feel free to use whatever you like! If you change it up, let me know what combinations you came up with!

Cream Scones-makes about 16:

7 ounces: All Purpose Flour

6 ounces: Cake Flour

.5 ounces: Baking Powder

1 teaspoon: Salt

1 1/4 teaspoon: Ground Ginger

1.5 ounces: Sugar

6 ounces: Unsalted Butter, cubed, cold

1 Each: Egg

7.5 ounces: Heavy Cream, cold

1/2 of an orange, zested

4 ounces: Any garnish (I used dried cranberries)

For finishing:

A few tablespoons of heavy cream

Turbinado sugar mixed with a little ground ginger for sprinkling.

Method:

1) In a small bowl, soak the dried cranberries (or other dried fruits) in the liquid of your choice.

2) In a medium-sized bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, salt, sugar and ground ginger. Set aside.

3) Cube the butter into small pieces and leave in the refrigerator until ready to use. In a small bowl, mix the heavy cream, zest and egg together with a fork. 

4) Take the cold butter out and add it into the flour mixture. Pour in the liquid ingredients. Using a pastry cutter, mix everything together until just combined. Add in the garnishes and mix until a dough forms. *If you used a soaking liquid for the dried fruit, do not add it into the dough. Do not overmix. Seeing chunks of butter is a good thing!

5) Flour the surface and place the dough on it. Pat or roll the dough until it is approximately 1 inch thick. 

6) Cut the dough using a round cutter (mine was 3 inches) or use a knife to make triangles. Place on a lined or greased sheet pan. Refrigerate for at least 40 minutes or until firm. 

7) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl, pour a few tablespoons of heavy cream in a bowl. In another small bowl, mix together some turbinado sugar and ground ginger. Brush each chilled scone with heavy cream using a pastry brush. Sprinkle the tops with the sugar mixture. 

8) Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes or until the tops are golden brown. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I love eating these anytime of the day. Seriously, they are SO delicious!! I need to control myself or else I will eat them all!

They also make really nice gifts for the holidays if you package them up! They will last wrapped in plastic for up to a week.

Enjoy!

-Sis-

Leave a Reply

