Uncategorized

Mini Marble Cupcakes for 2013!

As I was going through my blog, I realized that I have not given out any of my cupcake recipes. I have to be honest though, lately I have not been baking as many cupcakes as I have in the past.

I really do have some awesome recipes and I do think they are fun to make and decorate, especially for large crowds. Seriously, people go nuts for cupcakes!

So, as our New Years party came approaching a few days ago, I knew I could easily bake up some cupcakes and make our hungry friends happy!

And my mini marble cupcakes did just that! Being a vanilla and chocolate lover myself, I can never decide which flavor I’d rather have. These cupcakes made for an easy decision!IMG_0972

 

How cute are they? We were calling them cupcake vitamins. Just pop 2, 4 or 8 healthy servings in your mouth and you should be good!

They can be hard to resist.

Mini Marble Cupcakes (makes 36 minis or 16 standard cupcakes)

1 3/4 Cups: All purpose flour

2 teaspoons: Baking powder

1/2 teaspoon: Salt

1/3 Cup: Sour cream

1/3 Cup: Heavy cream

1 teaspoon: Vanilla extract

1/2 Cup (1 Stick): Unsalted butter, soft

1 Cup: Sugar

3 Large: Eggs, room temperature*

1/3 Cup: Unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 Cup: Boiling water

1 Recipe of Vanilla or Chocolate Buttercream

Sprinkles or edible pearls for decorating

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line mini muffin tins with paper liners.

2) In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Mix with a whisk.

3) In a small bowl, mix together sour cream, heavy cream and vanilla. Set aside.

4) With an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl after each egg is incorporated.

5) Add the flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with 2 additions of the sour cream mixture. Beat until just combined. Do not over mix! Split up the vanilla batter and transfer one half to another bowl, so one can be used for the chocolate batter.IMG_0955

6) Chocolate batter:  Combine one of the vanilla batters with the cocoa powder and boiling water and mix. IMG_0958

7) Fill the paper liners with alternating spoonfuls of vanilla and chocolate batter. They should be 3/4 of the way full. Using a small knife or toothpick, run it through the batter in a swirl motion. IMG_0964IMG_0967

8) Bake in the preheated oven for 10-11 minutes. Do not commit the sin of over baking cupcakes! The worst thing is a dry cupcake.

9) Take them out of the oven and immediately transfer them to a wire rack. Cool completely.

You can stop here and finish them with a dusting of powdered sugar, but I like giving them a swirl of chocolate buttercream. My recipe is fudge-like and doesn’t taste like your typical buttercream. I absolutely hate overly sweet buttercream-it gives me a tooth ache. I never follow a recipe, since I find them all to be too sweet. So, I came up with my own. It can also be used as a vanilla buttercream, just eliminate the cocoa powder. And one piece of advice, NEVER use salted butter!! I knew someone who swore by using salted butter (and 4 pounds of powdered sugar) in her buttercream recipe. I don’t know why, but all I knew was that it tasted awful!

Vanilla & Chocolate Buttercream

3 Sticks: Unsalted Butter, very soft

1/8 teaspoon: Salt

1/2 Tablespoon: Vanilla Extract

2 1/2 Cups: Powdered sugar

1/4 Cup (or more if too stiff): Heavy cream

Chocolate: 1/2 cup of sifted unsweetened cocoa powder.

Directions
1) Using an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the soft butter, salt and vanilla.

2) Add in half the powdered sugar along with half the heavy cream and mix until combined. Add in the rest of the powdered sugar and heavy cream (use more if needed) and beat until fluffy. The buttercream can last in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

-If making chocolate buttercream: combine the sifted cocoa powder with the powdered sugar and follow the same directions.

Finishing Cupcakes:

1) Using a small offset spatula, spread soft buttercream on the tops of each cupcake.IMG_0977

2) Add sprinkles or edible pearls on top and serve!

Enjoy these cupcake vitamins and don’t feel guilty eating a couple!! Happy 2013!IMG_0983

*If your eggs are not a room temperature, place them in a bowl of warm water for a few minutes before using.*

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mini Marble Cupcakes for 2013!

Leave a Reply

