Uncategorized

Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos with Crema

During these long, cold winter days I have literally become OBSESSED with my crock pot. I can’t get enough of it. I mean, come on, you put a bunch of stuff in it, turn the heat on, have a life for 2-3 hours and then dinner is ready!

Well, last night I was really feeling tacos. Healthy tacos. Something that I wouldn’t feel guilty about eating. I was craving them.

And it hit me.

Slow cooked shredded chicken tacos. On corn tortillas of course-my favorite! Most of the fun took place in my crock pot, which made it so easy for me!

And I didn’t feel so disgusting after eating two whole tacos. The chicken really feels healthier instead of beef. Way less fatty and filling, but just as delicious and satisfying.

For the dry marinade on the chicken, I came up with my own little blend of flavorful spices. Just rub it on the chicken and let it do its thing for a few minutes. *If you were to use beef instead of chicken, this is the perfect spice blend to use in place of a packet of taco seasoning. Jake (my awesome boyfriend) even made his own version of a crema to go on top. A crema is sour cream based. I think of it as a thinned out flavorful sour cream. Serve up these tacos with some rice, tomatoes, lettuce and cheese and it’s the perfect meal!

And yes, I know I’m a baking gal, but I am a darn good cook too 🙂 !

Taco Spice Blend:

2 1/2 teaspoons: Chili powder

1 teaspoon: Fresh cilantro, chopped

1/2 teaspoon: Cumin

1/2 teaspoon: Ground mustard

1/4 teaspoon: Onion powder

1/4 teaspoon: Garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon: Paprika

1/4 teaspoon, each: Salt & Pepper

1/8 teaspoon: Red pepper flakes (or more if you like it spicy)

1/8 teaspoon: Cayenne pepper

1/8 teaspoon: Dried oregano

-Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.IMG_0987

Chicken Tacos (serves 6 people):

1 1/2 Pounds: Chicken breast (mine were cut in half)

2 Tablespoons: Olive oil

5 Each: Tomatoes, chopped

1 Recipe of Taco Spice Blend

Salt & Pepper

Corn tortillas, warmed

Rice, chopped tomatoes, cheese, lettuce and any other additional toppings

Directions:

1) Place chicken breasts in the crock pot and rub half of the taco spice blend on top. Flip over the chicken and rub the rest on the other side. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Let sit in the crock pot (no heat) for up to 40 minutes or more.IMG_0988

2) Once the chicken has had time to marinate, top with the chopped tomatoes and turn the heat on high. Let it cook through until tender, about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. The tomatoes will break down and create a sauce.IMG_0989

3) When the chicken has cooked through, take out each piece and place on a clean surface. With two forks, shred the meat. Place all the meat back into the crock pot. Season with salt and pepper and give it a nice stir. Cook for another 30-35 minutes. IMG_0991IMG_0992

That’s it!! Now, let each person assemble their tacos with the chicken and their favorite toppings!

Here is Jake’s crema recipe if you would like to kick it up a notch!

Jake’s Crema:

1/2 Cup: Sour cream

1 Clove: Garlic, minced

1 Tablespoon: Anything acidic- Lemon, lime or orange juice. We used o.j.!

Pinch of cayenne pepper, paprika, ground ginger, salt & pepper and dried dill

-Combine all ingredients in a bowl and serve on top of tacos.IMG_0996

This recipe was so easy and flavorful! Everyone raved about how these were the best tacos they have ever had! I will definitely be making them again. IMG_0999

Enjoy!

Sis

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Tacos with Crema

Leave a Reply

