Uncategorized

Winter Hiking & Cooking Over an Open Fire

We had a free Saturday this past weekend, which is very rare, but nice! Trying to think of something to do to keep us all busy wasn’t too difficult!

So, what did we decide to do?

GO HIKING!Image

The idea seemed great for a while. We bought some good food- hamburgers, steaks, wild salmon, brussel sprouts. Oh, and some beer! It was going to be a feast, as always!

Well, I didn’t realize it had just snowed up there! Ugh…

And being me, I wasn’t prepared for it. Snow boots: Negative. Heavy Coat: Negative. Looks like I’m roughing it.

Eventually, the guys got a fire going and things were warming up. ImageI started prepping for our feast by cutting the brussel sprouts and marinating the salmon.Image

**One great tip I learned for the day, snow makes an excellent ice cooler!Image

For the salmon, I rubbed it with extra-virgin olive oil, chopped thyme & rosemary, salt & pepper and a squeeze of lemon. ImageWe cooked it over the fire on a really hot cast iron pan. The skin turned out crispy and the flavors were delicious! Some of the best salmon I have ever had.Image

Next, were the brussel sprouts. I LOVE brussel sprouts- definitely my favorite vegetable. Usually, I make them with pancetta, olive oil, salt & pepper and bake them in the oven. I didn’t have the pancetta on Saturday, so I just made them over the fire with olive oil, salt & pepper. They turned out awesome paired with the salmon.Image

Okay, time for a break before the next course-like that wasn’t enough food!

We then made steak. They were simple to prepare. We marinated them with extra-virgin olive oil, garlic powder and fresh rosemary and seared on the cast iron pan. They stayed incredibly juicy and had that perfect crust!Image After all that food, I could not bear to look at any more. I definitely didn’t have the strength to eat the final course-a hamburger. That’s what guys are for!

I have to say, I really enjoyed myself-even if I wasn’t as prepared as I would have liked to be! The beautiful surroundings, fun people and great food is all that matters!!  Image

14 thoughts on “Winter Hiking & Cooking Over an Open Fire

  1. What a great post to share. This way of cooking is the best in the world! Look at that salmon and brussel sprouts…mouth watering! Wish I can do this once in my lifetime.

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

Leave a Reply

