Uncategorized

Vanilla Lemon Pound Cake with Ginger & Basil Macerated Berries

This was a very last minute dessert I made this week for company. I really love pound cake, but sometimes I find it can be dry and boring. I knew I wanted to spice things up and make an elegant dessert. I had a little over an hour to create and this is what I came up with. This pound cake is really delicious and best served when slightly warm. The berries are different and unexpected, but work.   Image

Image
Ground Vanilla Beans

It is called vanilla lemon pound cake, so it has to live up to its name! I went on an overload with the vanilla by using vanilla extract, vanilla paste and ground vanilla beans. Now, I know you might not have the last 2 ingredients, (I do highly suggest finding them at a specialty food store!) but they really perfume the pound cake so beautifully. If you cannot find the last 2 ingredients, a fresh vanilla bean with the seeds scraped will work or just more vanilla extract.Image

For the lemon, I used the zest from a whole lemon, which I think has all the best flavor.  Here is how I made the pound cake.

Vanilla Lemon Pound Cake:

1 Cup (2 Sticks): Unsalted butter, soft

1 1/4 Cups: Sugar

4 Large: Eggs

2 Tablespoons: Honey *I like using raw honey. Jake’s mom and stepdad make the honey I used. I got to help make this batch, which was AWESOME!*Image
2 teaspoons: Vanilla extract

1 teaspoon: Vanilla paste (optional)

1/2 teaspoon: Ground vanilla beans (optional)

1 Lemon, zested. 

2 Cups: All purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon: Salt

1/2 teaspoon: Baking powder

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a loaf pan that is 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 inches. 

2) In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on medium speed. This takes about 3 minutes for it to become light in color. 

3) While the butter and sugar are creaming, measure out the eggs, honey, vanilla(s) and lemon zest in a small bowl. With the mixer on, add in the egg mixture one egg at a time. Scrape down the bowl in between each egg and incorporate. Image

4) Combine all the dry ingredients in a small bowl and add it to the batter with the mixer on low speed. Do not over beat. Take the bowl off the mixer and finish mixing the batter with a rubber spatula.Image

5) Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan and smooth the top. Bake in the preheated oven for 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for 20 minutes, then take out of the pan. Serve slightly warm. Image

While the pound cake was baking I prepared the berries. I used fresh ginger and basil, which is one of the best food combinations. Odd? A little, but odd is a good thing! My mom was making fresh tomato sauce, and of course she added basil, so I snatched some. We also had fresh ginger left over for a drink we made, so I took that too. That’s how this little creation started.Image

The berries were macerated in the refrigerator, which basically means marinating. When you are macerating berries or dried fruit, you use a liquid (an acid or liquor) and sugar. The sugar will help the fruits release their juices and create a beautiful, chunky fruit syrup. Which is perfect with pound cake-it almost acts like a sponge moping up all those flavors! Feel free to use any berries you like.

Ginger & Basil Macerated Berries:

1/2 Cup: Blackberries

1/2 Cup: Blueberries

1/2 teaspoon: Fresh basil, chopped

1/2 teaspoon: Fresh ginger, peeled & grated

1/2 teaspoon: Lemon zest

4 Tablespoons: Sugar

Juice from half a lemon

Directions:

1) Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Use a fork to break up some of the berries. Let it sit in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. ImageImage

To assemble:

1) Cut a slice of vanilla lemon pound cake and top with the macerated berries and some of the juices.Image

That’s how it’s done! Simple & elegant. 

-Sis-

11 thoughts on “Vanilla Lemon Pound Cake with Ginger & Basil Macerated Berries

  1. Hi I’m John from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes
    from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your recipes ordered. Each recipe has a link to the blog that belongs recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog

    It’s easy and fun. The best Photo recipes will be stay here

    I invite you to enter add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo.

    That’s it. Regards friend

    http://www.Fooduel.com

  2. Great recipe. I have always wanted to make my own pure vanilla, but have never attempted it. I have pure vanilla I bring from Mexico.
    Love the marinated berries with ginger and basil. Going to use this with my crepes I make in the mornings or even for dessert.

    Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you like the recipes. I have some friends who go down to Mexico a lot and they bring me back Mexican vanilla. It’s pretty different from what you can buy in the US. It smells delicious-and it’s a little sweeter. Hope you enjoy the berries!! It’s a little different, but delicious! Thanks for visiting!

  3. A lovelmy cake & those special basil & ginger macerarted berries must taste also awesome! 🙂 Yummmm! I also make my own vanilla extract: so much better, don’t you think so?

  4. Thank you! I think there is such a difference when you make your own vanilla extract!! It’s the best! I have 3 bottles being made right now! It takes awhile, but is so worth it!

Leave a Reply

