Uncategorized

Banana Bread

This recipe for banana bread is wonderful and simple. The smell it creates in the house is mouth watering! Another added bonus, no electric mixer needed- just a handy wooden spoon!Image

For this recipe, I like to blend 3 types of flours: all purpose, whole wheat and almond flour. I just think it adds great flavor to this bread. I also like my banana bread moist (who doesn’t?!). To achieve that, I slightly under-bake my bread. When the bread is taken out of the oven, it will continue to cook in the hot loaf pan and cause it to dry out. Not good!

Banana Bread:

1/2 Cup: All purpose flour

1/2 Cup: Almond flour

1/4 Cup: Whole wheat flour

3/4 teaspoon: Baking soda

1/2 teaspoon: Baking powder

1 teaspoon: Salt

1 Stick (8 Tablespoons): Unsalted butter, very soft

3/4 Cup: Packed (light or dark) brown sugar

2 Large eggs

1 teaspoon: Vanilla paste/extract

2 Tablespoons: Sour cream, greek yogurt or buttermilk. *I had greek yogurt on hand.

1 Cup (2 large): Ripe bananas, mashed

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Break up any clumps of almond flour. 

2) In another bowl, mix the soft butter and brown sugar together with a wooden spoon for about a minute. Add the eggs & vanilla and beat well. It’s okay if it looks funky and curdled. Image

3) In another small bowl, mash the bananas with your hand or a fork. Add in the sour cream, yogurt or buttermilk. Image

4) Add the flour mixture in 2 additions to the butter and sugar mixture until mostly combined. Fold in the mashed banana mixture. Do not over-mix!ImageImage

5) Pour into a greased loaf pan. I used 2 smaller loaf pans and I evenly distributed the batter. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. This recipe is also great for making muffins. Just line a muffin pan with paper liners and use an ice cream scoop to portion out the batter. Image

This bread is best served the day it’s baked, but will still taste delicious for up to 3 days. Keep it covered in plastic wrap. Image

Enjoy!

 

18 thoughts on “Banana Bread

  1. I love banana bread and this is a recipe I have been waiting for because I don’t own an electric mixer. Yours looks yummy. Thank you for sharing! I will try it soon.

  2. Just last week I baked some goodies with just almond flour and they were delicious. I think I’ll try making my banana bread with a mixture of flours. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

