desserts

Rustic Apple Tart

I absolutely love the warm weather and summertime. I cannot get enough of the beach, pina coladas, fruits and vegetables from the garden and hanging out by the pool. But, I do have to admit that there’s something about autumn. Even though I’m not a fan of the cooler weather, I love the coziness this season brings. 

Autumn is definitely my favorite baking season. I light up all of my pumpkin and apple scented candles and listen to James Taylor sing away in the background while I get in the zone to bake. Pies, tarts and cobblers are some of my favorite desserts to bake. These desserts are meant to be rustic and natural looking, which I love. 

This apple tart is perfect to make because it requires only a few ingredients and does not take long to make. I had leftover pie dough that I used for this recipe. I think using a recipe with all butter gives the best flavor and tenderness to the dough. You really can’t go wrong with butter 😀. I also found that after testing out sooo many pie dough recipes and methods, using a pastry cutter gives the best results for a tender dough. I know some recipes have you use a food processor, but I have experienced my dough getting over processed by using that machine. You can’t go wrong with doing things the old fashioned way! 

Oh, and where was Abner while I was baking? She was out cold after a morning of chasing around my husband’s RC car in the field! She didn’t play a huge role in this apple tart process! 

This is what Abner’s day consisted of!!

She has the life!

Here is the recipe: 

2 1/2 Cups: All Purpose Flour

1 Tablespoon: Sugar

3/4 Teaspoon: Salt

2 Sticks (16 Tablespoons): Unsalted Butter, cold and cut into cubes

Ice Water

3-4 Apples

1/4 Cup: Sugar (you can use more or less depending on the apples) 

Pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg

1 Teaspoon: Lemon Juice

1 Tablespoon: Butter (cubed)

Turbinado sugar 

2 Tablespoons : Apricot Preserves 

1) Preheat oven to 400 degress. Combie dry ingredients into a large bowl and mix together. Add in the butter and cut it into the dry ingredients using a pastry cutter until the butter pieces are the size of peas. 

2) Add in some ice water, about 1 tablespoon at a time until the dough just starts to form in to a ball. At this point, it might be easier to use your hand to gently form the dough. Once formed, cut the dough in half and cover each ball in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. 

3) Take out one of the dough pieces and save the other. Lightly flour your surface and roll out the dough until it’s about the size of a large dinner plate, around 12-14 inches. Transfer the rolled out dough to a lightly greased baking sheet. Set aside while you get the apples ready. 

4) Peel, core and slice the apples (about 1/4 inch think) and put in a bowl. Add sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and lemon juice and gently mix together. Try not to break up the apples. Arrange the apples in the middle of the pie dough in a circle, leaving a 2 inch border. Fold the edges of the dough toward the center and press the edges down lightly with your fingers. Some of the apples in the center will be showing. 

5) Brush the dough with a little bit of cold water and evenly sprinkle on the turbinado sugar. Bake the tart for about 35 minutes until the apples are cooked and the tart is golden brown. 

6) When the tart is almost done baking, combine the apricot preserves and a little water in a small bowl. Microwave the preserves for 20 seconds. Some recipes will tell you to strain the preserves and you can, however, I like the chunks of apricot. Once the tart is done, brush the preserves all over the warm tart. Cut the tart into wedges and serve warm. 

Enjoy this recipe! 

– Cara and Abner

Leave a Reply

