desserts

Cannoli Dip

Cannolis=delicious!!!

I love them!! I especially love the cannoli cream. Fresh ricotta cheese (check out my first blog post on how to make homemade ricotta!) that’s just a little sweet with a bunch of chocolate chips…..so good. I can eat it by the spoonful- that’s something I’ve done multiple times 😏. The idea for this recipe comes from an Italian food store nearby. They sell a tub of cannoli cream with broken up cannoli shells for dipping. It’s pretty genius. 


I have to admit, this isn’t Abner’s first time eating cannoli cream (hey, I come from a very Italian family I can’t help it 😋). And don’t worry, I let her have a small taste before the chocolate chips are added! I feel so cruel, but one of my favorite things to do is to put some on the top of her nose and watch her try and lick it off. She’s pretty good at it and it does give me a good laugh. Trying to snap a picture of it is not easy though! 

This recipe is really easy to make and it can also be used for stuffing cannoli shells. I have used it many times for a specialty cake filling too. Here is the recipe: 

Cannoli Dip

  • 1/2 Cup: heavy cream
  • 2 Ounces: cream cheese, room temperature 
  • 2 1/4 Cups: whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 3/4 Cup: powdered sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon: vanilla extract
  • 1/2 Cup: mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 Teaspoon: ground vanilla beans*
  • Cannoli shells, broken into medium sized pieces

Directions

  1. In a bowl, whisk the heavy cream until it becomes stiff and peaks form. Set aside in the refrigerator . 
  2. Using a wooden spoon, soften the cream cheese. Add the ricotta, powdered sugar and vanilla and mix until combined. At this point, if you notice your mixture is very loose strain it for at least an hour. My mixture was pretty firm because the ricotta I was using was on the thicker side. 
  3. Fold the whipped cream into the ricotta mixture. Gently stir in the chocolate chips. Serve with the broken cannoli shell pieces. 

* the ground vanilla beans are optional, but they do add some nice flavor. A little goes a long way. I buy it at Williams Sonoma. 

Enjoy!! 

2 thoughts on “Cannoli Dip

  1. I also come from a long line of cannoli lovers and Italian cheesecake, my two favorites. thanks for the post, now i need a cannoli.

Leave a Reply

