abner · desserts

Wild Blueberry Crumb Tart

We live near a beautiful state park and hiked to our favorite spot today. It’s also blueberry season and we were picking blueberries for hours. Our spot was right near the water (that is where all the blueberry bushes are. Oh, and did I mention that Abner HATES WATER!!)DSC01103

dsc011181.jpgBut… something changed in Miss Abner today. She’s a new woman. The first thing she did when we got to our spot was jump in the water. We couldn’t believe it. I really would love to know what was going through her mind- she was in the water most of the day! Maybe it had to do with the hot weather, but I’m praying she’s over this fear! DSC01077DSC01129

Well, the main reason why we went hiking was to pick the wild blueberries. The bushes are mainly near the water and they are pretty small, but sweet. This is something that we’ve done before, but this year was our best. So many blueberries!!!  A great treat for dogs too! 😉DSC01080DSC01065DSC01109

Of course one of the first things I had to do when we arrived home was make a dessert. I made a simple blueberry tart with crumb topping. First, I defrosted some leftover puff pastry I had in the freezer. Sometimes I like to make my own puff pastry but, when I don’t have time to make it I buy it in the frozen aisle. There are many brands to choose from but I recommend buying one made with butter.
I then rolled out the pastry into a rectangle and I cut small strips (about 1 inch wide) from each side to create a border to hold the berry mixture. I attached the pieces for the border using a little water.

For the blueberry mixture, I combined about 2 cups of berries with some brown sugar, flour, lemon juice and salt and put it in the middle of the puff pastry.

I made the crumb topping with flour, brown sugar, granulated sugar, salt and butter and mixed it until it formed large crumbs. I put the crumbs on top of the blueberry mixture. After I make tarts like this I put it in the refrigerator. The puff pastry is made of mostly butter and the longer it stays out, the butter gets warm and starts to melt. This is not good because your puff pastry won’t be as flakey as you want.

This is a delicious, rustic tart and you can serve it with ice cream or whipped cream. I prefer it plain though 😀.
We’ll see on our next hike if Abner’s fear is water is gone. I’ll have to keep you all posted!

-Cara and Abner

2 thoughts on “Wild Blueberry Crumb Tart

  1. Hi there, on the road back from a nice weekend in rhinebeck visiting friends. Your photos are great and I love blueberries. Thanks for posting .

Leave a Reply

